He subsequently validated this clinical sign and refined it to the four-grade system that is is now widely used in today's anaesthesia.

Mallampati Scoring

  1. Class 1:  Tonsils clearly visible
  2. Class 2: Hard and soft palate Visible Upper half of tonsil visible
  3. Class 3: Soft and Hard Palate base are clearly visible
  4. Class 4: Only Hard Palate visible









Ken True History of Surgery and Anaesthesia